This pains me because it seemed to be our only plan.

Read, read, read. For about six years I was a youth team manager at Horsford Cricket Club and derived a great deal of satisfaction from organising and running games for youngsters; seeing them get the opportunities that I wish I’d had at that age.

Fast forward to 2015 where I had been in Australia for a few months.

When I started there was no television and therefore a cricket report was indeed a report, describing what had happened, with some analysis.

Folgende Menschen haben an diesem Plugin mitgewirkt: „SportsPress for Cricket“ wurde in 5 Sprachen übersetzt. Regarding an article you wrote in 2014 which said there was a disproportionate number of Australian cricketers being picked from state schools over public schools, is this still happening or has there been a change? On the field they were immensely competitive but off it they were a joy to be with – both great men and Clive is sadly missed.”, Moving back to his connection with SA we discussed a complicated character who was unlucky not to play more for the West Indies but was crucial to both Transvaal’s dominance and at least in part to the team’s Mean Machine name. Born in Northern Rhodesia and coming out of the bush was a young Neal Radford, making his first-class debut as a 21-year-old for Transvaal B in 1978 with soon to be Mean Machine stalwarts Jimmy Cook, Clive Rice and Graeme Pollock. My earliest memories of cricket are around the Ashes series of 1981.

How can cricket, in England, capitalise on the 2019 season?

Do you see a time in the future when transformation numbers are not implemented in our domestic cricket? People have many reasons why many, as the ‘best’ Cricket World Cup, consider 1992.